Advertisement:

Author Topic: Does this look like a database error.  (Read 14700 times)

Offline hutch--

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
    • The MASM Forum
Does this look like a database error.
« on: July 12, 2005, 03:56:08 AM »
I had the current upgrade as 1.0.5

this is what is displaying when going to the URL.


Notice: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /www/m/masmforum/htdocs/simple/Sources/Subs.php on line 232

Notice: Undefined index: is_admin in /www/m/masmforum/htdocs/simple/Sources/Security.php on line 556

Notice: Undefined index: permissions in /www/m/masmforum/htdocs/simple/Sources/Security.php on line 563

Warning: in_array(): Wrong datatype for second argument in /www/m/masmforum/htdocs/simple/Sources/Security.php on line 563
session_start(): Cannot send session cache limiter - headers already sent (output started at /www/m/masmforum/htdocs/simple/Sources/Subs.php:232)
Notice: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /www/m/masmforum/htdocs/simple/Sources/Subs.php on line 232


It appears they have upgraded to mysql version 4.1 if this matters.
« Last Edit: July 12, 2005, 03:59:53 AM by hutch-- »
Regards,

hutch at movsd dot com
http://www.masm32.com

Offline theos

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Does this look like a database error.
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2005, 05:16:01 AM »
I have exactly the same problem!

Hope someone can help us out...

Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re: Does this look like a database error.
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2005, 05:39:44 AM »
Find in Subs.php:

Code: [Select]
= &mysql_query
And remove the &.

-[Unknown]

Offline theos

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Does this look like a database error.
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2005, 05:43:15 AM »
Thanks!
I already found your solution in another post:

http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=39065.0

 :D :D


Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re: Does this look like a database error.
« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2005, 05:49:20 AM »
(just great, now we have to make a release of 1.0.x just for this?  Why can't PHP 4.x stay backwards compatible?)

-[Unknown]

Offline hutch--

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
    • The MASM Forum
Re: Does this look like a database error.
« Reply #5 on: July 12, 2005, 07:21:48 AM »
Thanks [Unknown], The mod worked fine. Who do we shoot, the provider or MySql ?  8)
Regards,

hutch at movsd dot com
http://www.masm32.com

Offline dragon2611

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Does this look like a database error.
« Reply #6 on: July 12, 2005, 03:00:15 PM »
i just had my friends smf forum go down after updating my server to php 4.4 so i went back to 4.3.11 but as the fix is simple i'll probably be going back to php 4.4 again  ;)

Offline strongmad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Does this look like a database error.
« Reply #7 on: July 12, 2005, 04:10:33 PM »
thanks this happend to me after 1.o.5 update, now sorted with subs fix

Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re: Does this look like a database error.
« Reply #8 on: July 12, 2005, 04:12:09 PM »
Thanks [Unknown], The mod worked fine. Who do we shoot, the provider or MySql ?  8)

PHP 4.4 is the mischevious one here.  Apparently they changed some things to generate error messages that did not before.

-[Unknown]

Offline kisii

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 65
Re: Does this look like a database error.
« Reply #9 on: July 13, 2005, 08:12:07 PM »
i have the same problem, I have removed that (&) but i get a different error:


Parse error: parse error, unexpected T_CONSTANT_ENCAPSED_STRING in /www/k/kenyans/htdocs/discussions/Sources/Subs.php on line 1595

Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re: Does this look like a database error.
« Reply #10 on: July 13, 2005, 08:16:40 PM »
Are you using Dreamweaver?  Please try a clean copy of the file.

-[Unknown]

Offline kisii

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 65
Re: Does this look like a database error.
« Reply #11 on: July 13, 2005, 08:18:40 PM »
yes i am

Offline kisii

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 65
Re: Does this look like a database error.
« Reply #12 on: July 13, 2005, 08:24:29 PM »
I have a new sub.php file from from SMF but i get the same error

Offline dtm.exe

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 5,465
Re: Does this look like a database error.
« Reply #13 on: July 13, 2005, 08:25:45 PM »
I have a new sub.php file from from SMF but i get the same error

Try pressing Ctrl + F5 at the error page.

-Dan The Man

Offline Chris Cromer

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,745
  • Gender: Male
  • I am just a figment of your imagination!
    • Chris's AGI Web Site
Re: Does this look like a database error.
« Reply #14 on: July 13, 2005, 09:49:18 PM »
Don't use dreamweaver to edit it if you still are, dreamweaver is the problem. You can use notepad if you are in windows.
Chris Cromer

"I was here, here I was, was I here, sure I was" - The little voice in my head.

Offline Lordy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Does this look like a database error.
« Reply #15 on: July 14, 2005, 07:38:25 PM »
This just fixed the problem on my site too.

PHP version 4.4.0
MySQL version 4.1.11-standard
SMF 1.0.5

Thanks Unknown.  8)

Offline deebee

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Does this look like a database error.
« Reply #16 on: July 17, 2005, 07:29:58 AM »
I'm running SMF 1.0.4 on a server that's just been upgraded to php4.4.0. Tried the fix suggested but I'm still getting this error message. Modded the subs.php directly in CuteFTP and it looks fine, no trailing spaces etc.

Any ideas?

Offline Ben_S

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 11,725
  • xxx
Re: Does this look like a database error.
« Reply #17 on: July 17, 2005, 07:53:50 AM »
Try upgrading to 1.0.5, which you should do anyway as 1.0.4 has a security issue.
Liverpool FC Forum with 14 million+ posts.

Offline deebee

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Does this look like a database error.
« Reply #18 on: July 17, 2005, 08:54:04 AM »
Hi Ben,

I can't access any aspect of the board including the admin side. All this on my birthday as well!


The error message I get is...

"Sorry, SMF was unable to connect to the database. This may be caused by the server being busy. Please try again later." Host tells me the server is fine and running OK.

There is just one mod on the board - Mambo-SMF bridge from Mambohacks. Problem is I can't even access the admin side of the board to remove this mod before upgrading to 1.0.5.

Offline Meriadoc

  • SMF Friend
  • Sophist Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,263
  • Gender: Male
  • For the world is changing
    • Philip Renich: Websites
Re: Does this look like a database error.
« Reply #19 on: July 17, 2005, 09:06:21 AM »
Happy birthday! Though sorry this happens on your day.
You can manually upgrade to 1.0.5, you needn't do it from the admin panel.
grab the update/upgrade package from the downloads page and FTP the files up, then you can upgrade manually from there.
If I know the way home and am walking along it drunkenly, is it any less the right way because I am staggering from side to side? : Leo Tolstoy
Everything I know I learned from Calvin and Hobbes.
And patience is about the most useful thing you could ever have.  That and backups. : [Unknown]
If I choose to send thee, Tuor son of Huor, then believe not that thy one sword is not worth the sending. : Ulmo, Lord of the Waters - Unfinished Tales, by J.R.R. Tolkien