Advertisement:

Author Topic: Forum Firewall  (Read 305770 times)

Offline Joomlamz

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,630
  • Gender: Male
  • Suporte SmfPT
    • apllicmz on Facebook
    • apllicmz on GitHub
    • https://www.linkedin.com/in/aplic on LinkedIn
    • @aplichosting on Twitter
    • Webdesign
Re: Forum Firewall
« Reply #460 on: July 16, 2011, 01:45:23 PM »
Yes thank you for Update
good work




Offline butchs

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,728
  • Lost 7GB bandwidth!
    • EastCoastRollingThunder
Re: Forum Firewall
« Reply #461 on: July 16, 2011, 01:46:15 PM »
You are welcome...   8)

New version:
  • Bug fixes
  • Corrected Permanent bans thanks digit.
  • Improved whitelist thanks digit.
  • Added ddos test!
  • Portuguese + brazilian translations - thanks Darkness_Black.
  • Spanish translation additions - thanks xaquin.

DDOS HELP

The new DDOS test is awesome and stops the good bot spoofers cold in their tracks.  This test is the first of it's kind anywhere...  I hope you enjoy the reduced bandwidth!  O:)

This is how you can use the new test.  You need to properly set-up your robots.txt file for a SMF forum.  Here are the recommended steps:

  • Read Robots.txt file for an SMF forum and adjust your robots txt file to include a "User-agent: *" along with associated disallows.
  • Test your robots.txt file (requires a Google Account) via Google Webmaster Tools:
  • On the Webmaster Tools Home page, click the site you want.
  • Under Site configuration, click Crawler access
  • If it's not already selected, click the Test robots.txt tab.
  • Copy the content of your robots.txt file, and paste it into the first box.
  • In the URLs box, list the site to test against.
  • In the User-agents list, select the user-agents you want.
Within 24hrs Google should search your site.  Once you have been searched install the mod.

The mod will then try to read your robots.txt file and self configure.  Enable the test and say goodbye to the DDOS spoofers!
 :)

Assuming you never had a robots.txt file installed when you loaded the mod you do the following:
  To have the mod check you will uninstall the mod in Package Manager.  Then re-install the mod.
  During the re-install the self configure script will look for your robots.txt file.  If found and is
  properly formatted, the once empty "Robots.txt action's" field will be populated.

  Please note that when the mod is un-installed it disables it's self.  You will have to re-enable the
  mod for it to work.

  The mod will NOT do anything if there is any text in the "Robots.txt action's" field during
  installation.  If there is any data in the "Robots.txt action's" field, you must delete all data and
  save the empty field before re-installing the mod.

Any changes made to the robots.txt file after mod installation will require manually editing the "Robots.txt action's" field.

The mod does it's best to guess your configuration.  I am sure, there are some servers where the self configure will not work.  In those cases you will have to enter all the data manually.
« Last Edit: November 27, 2012, 06:26:47 PM by butchs »
I have been truly inspired by the SUGGESTIONS as I sit on my throne and contemplate the wisdom imposed upon me.

Offline MrAlicard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Forum Firewall
« Reply #462 on: July 16, 2011, 08:58:37 PM »
Code: [Select]
The database value you're trying to insert does not exist: value
Why? :o
The previous version 1.1.0 uninstall and new version the 1.1.2 install I this installation get.
« Last Edit: July 16, 2011, 09:13:11 PM by MrAlicard »

Offline Bancherd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 283
    • Thai Koi Keepers' Home Page
Re: Forum Firewall
« Reply #463 on: July 17, 2011, 02:41:49 AM »
Code: [Select]
The database value you're trying to insert does not exist: value
Why? :o
The previous version 1.1.0 uninstall and new version the 1.1.2 install I this installation get.

I got same problem.  Installed on one forum without any problem, but this error showed up while trying to install on another forum.  Both forums were using 1.1.1 without any problem.

Offline MrAlicard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Forum Firewall
« Reply #464 on: July 17, 2011, 05:58:11 AM »
Code: [Select]
The database value you're trying to insert does not exist: value
Why? :o
The previous version 1.1.0 uninstall and new version the 1.1.2 install I this installation get.

I got same problem.  Installed on one forum without any problem, but this error showed up while trying to install on another forum.  Both forums were using 1.1.1 without any problem.

And where you can download the 1.1.1 Firewall?
1.1.2 because it is everywhere.
Thanks in advance for your help. :)

Offline butchs

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,728
  • Lost 7GB bandwidth!
    • EastCoastRollingThunder
Re: Forum Firewall
« Reply #465 on: July 17, 2011, 06:02:45 AM »
I saw that before while testing and then I deleted and re-downloaded the mod and it installed the second time with no error.

Please let me know if re-downloading and installing the 1.1.2 mod does the trick?

« Last Edit: July 17, 2011, 06:14:49 AM by butchs »
I have been truly inspired by the SUGGESTIONS as I sit on my throne and contemplate the wisdom imposed upon me.

Offline butchs

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,728
  • Lost 7GB bandwidth!
    • EastCoastRollingThunder
Re: Forum Firewall
« Reply #466 on: July 17, 2011, 06:29:44 AM »
I noticed this SMF bug and will work on it:  http://dev.simplemachines.org/mantis/view.php?id=2196
I have been truly inspired by the SUGGESTIONS as I sit on my throne and contemplate the wisdom imposed upon me.

Offline MrAlicard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Forum Firewall
« Reply #467 on: July 17, 2011, 06:50:02 AM »
does not work  :( .
I downloaded the 1.1.1 version and after installed, the installation went normally.
Then I wanted to install the 1.1.2 version but the same error.

Offline butchs

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,728
  • Lost 7GB bandwidth!
    • EastCoastRollingThunder
Re: Forum Firewall
« Reply #468 on: July 17, 2011, 06:56:23 AM »
Does the attached work?


(attachment deleted because it worked and now is in the mod section)
« Last Edit: July 17, 2011, 03:21:02 PM by butchs »
I have been truly inspired by the SUGGESTIONS as I sit on my throne and contemplate the wisdom imposed upon me.

Offline MrAlicard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Forum Firewall
« Reply #469 on: July 17, 2011, 07:13:52 AM »
Does the attached work?

WoW Thank You the install perfect work. :)
Thank You very much. :D

Offline butchs

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,728
  • Lost 7GB bandwidth!
    • EastCoastRollingThunder
Re: Forum Firewall
« Reply #470 on: July 17, 2011, 07:14:52 AM »
Thank you...  The update with the SMF 2.0 bug fix is posted.
 O:)
I have been truly inspired by the SUGGESTIONS as I sit on my throne and contemplate the wisdom imposed upon me.

Offline Bancherd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 283
    • Thai Koi Keepers' Home Page
Re: Forum Firewall
« Reply #471 on: July 17, 2011, 08:49:27 AM »
Thank you, 1.1.3 installed without any problems.  :D

Offline digit

  • Sophist Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,364
  • Gender: Male
Re: Forum Firewall
« Reply #472 on: July 17, 2011, 09:10:13 AM »
butchs, to upgrade - do I just copy files over?  (or were there also changes to the database/templates?)

Thanks
Happily using a heavily modified 1.1.16 version of SMF!

2748011 Posts in 320998 Topics by 50986 Members


SOLD my website - thanks it was a good run - they converted to vbadvanced. (and screwed it up good!)

Offline butchs

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,728
  • Lost 7GB bandwidth!
    • EastCoastRollingThunder
Re: Forum Firewall
« Reply #473 on: July 17, 2011, 10:14:13 AM »
Besides copying files over files there were changes in the modsettings database.

You should be able to go to the admin page and manually enter the data there instead of having to have to reinstall.
  Copy the Robots to be tested from install_db.
  Then manually enter the action's from your robots file as explained in the help.
  Hit save and the information should load into the database.
 :)
I have been truly inspired by the SUGGESTIONS as I sit on my throne and contemplate the wisdom imposed upon me.

Offline aquascape

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 73
Re: Forum Firewall
« Reply #474 on: July 19, 2011, 11:09:42 PM »
Is it compatible with 2.0RCS or gold??

Offline butchs

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,728
  • Lost 7GB bandwidth!
    • EastCoastRollingThunder
Re: Forum Firewall
« Reply #475 on: July 20, 2011, 04:55:29 AM »
Yes.  FYI - Compatibly of all mods are listed with each mod submission.
I have been truly inspired by the SUGGESTIONS as I sit on my throne and contemplate the wisdom imposed upon me.

Offline stratocaster

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Forum Firewall
« Reply #476 on: July 21, 2011, 09:54:21 AM »
Hi butchs, first thank you for your job in this mod.

I have error's after install 1.1.3

Code: [Select]
2: array_intersect() [<a href='function.array-intersect'>function.array-intersect</a>]: Argument #2 is not an array

.../public_html/Sources/Security.php
Line: 828

Code: [Select]
2: in_array() [<a href='function.in-array'>function.in-array</a>]: Wrong datatype for second argument

.../public_html/Sources/Security.php
Line: 825


Code: [Select]
2: array_diff() [<a href='function.array-diff'>function.array-diff</a>]: Argument #2 is not an array

/public_html/Sources/Load.php
Line: 934


Code: [Select]
8: Undefined variable: removals

/public_html/Sources/Load.php
Line: 934

I do not know if it's only a problem on my forum, since nobody complained of the same issue or other, but the truth is that with the previous version (1.1.1), the forum did not have these errors.

I use SMF 2.0
mods:
1.    Spoiler Tag    0.7.2
2.    Hide Tag Special    3.0
3.    SimplePortal    2.3.3
4.    Treasury    2.10
5.    SimplePortal - ("language file")    2.3.3
6.    Country Flags    1.1.2
7.    [BBCode] Blink    1.0
8.    Topic Solved    1.1.1
9.    Posting_Announcement
10.    Thank-O-Matic    2.0 RC4
11.    Member Color Link    3.0.8
12.    Aeva ~ Auto-Embed Video & Audio    7.1
13.    Forum Firewall    1.1.3 (not instaled)
14.    SMF Topic Prefix Mod    1.1
15.    Related Topics    1.4 RC1


I leave the two files attached (without de Firewall mod instaled):

Load.php
Security.php

Sorry for my bad english, I hope you can understand my message.

Thank you.
« Last Edit: July 21, 2011, 10:24:32 AM by stratocaster »

Offline butchs

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,728
  • Lost 7GB bandwidth!
    • EastCoastRollingThunder
Re: Forum Firewall
« Reply #477 on: July 21, 2011, 06:18:48 PM »
Version 1.1.3 of the mod does not edit "Security.php" or "Load.php" so those files are the same as the files you had before the mod was installed.  Try turning on eval.  Chances are the errors are bots looking for weaknesses or trying to hack.

Look at the line above (that you omitted) the error "http://www....action-bla...bla"  chances are it is something SMF does not agree with.
« Last Edit: July 21, 2011, 06:23:02 PM by butchs »
I have been truly inspired by the SUGGESTIONS as I sit on my throne and contemplate the wisdom imposed upon me.

Offline stratocaster

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Forum Firewall
« Reply #478 on: July 22, 2011, 02:01:14 AM »
Thanks for the reply.


I turnning on de eval, but errors are presented in the same way


Code: [Select]
http://forum_name/index.php?topic=2514.msg%msg_id%
2: in_array() [<a href='function.in-array'>function.in-array</a>]: Wrong datatype for second argument
File: /home/user_name/public_html/Sources/Security.php
Line: 825

Code: [Select]
http://forum_name/index.php?topic=2514.msg%msg_id%
2: array_intersect() [<a href='function.array-intersect'>function.array-intersect</a>]: Argument #2 is not an array
File: /home/user_name/public_html/Sources/Security.php
Line: 828

Code: [Select]
http://forum_name/index.php?topic=2549.0;prev_next=prev
8: Undefined variable: removals
File: /home/user_name/public_html/Sources/Load.php
Line: 934

I reinstalled 1.1.3 without problems, but when I enable the "Enable Testing", I still have the same errors.
when I have version 1.1.1 installed, these errors do not occur.

I do not know what procedures I need to do to solve this.

Thank you.
« Last Edit: July 22, 2011, 02:37:59 AM by stratocaster »

Offline butchs

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,728
  • Lost 7GB bandwidth!
    • EastCoastRollingThunder
Re: Forum Firewall
« Reply #479 on: July 22, 2011, 05:03:56 AM »
The first one peaks my interest:
Quote
http://forum_name/index.php?topic=2514.msg%msg_id%

Humm...  %msg_id% looks like something suspicious.  I am going to look into this activity.

I do not know what procedures I need to do to solve this.

They are SMF errors due to bad bots.  You can report the errors to SMF.  They are not related to the mod.

I have been truly inspired by the SUGGESTIONS as I sit on my throne and contemplate the wisdom imposed upon me.