Advertisement:
GCWebhosting

Author Topic: 1.1 Converters  (Read 402440 times)

Offline redlabour

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 87
  • Gender: Male
    • Politikstube.de - die christliche Politikcommunity
vBulletin 3.5.x Converter - Fatal Error with Database Prefix !
« Reply #380 on: February 27, 2006, 01:08:05 PM »
I've attached the converters for 1.1 here incase they are of use to people. Please bear in mind these are beta versions - so please report any bugs you may find!

To use the new converters, first upload both "convert.php" and the file named "yoursoftware_to_smf.sql" or "yoursoftware_to_smf.php" to the same directory.  This directory can be either the directory of SMF, that of your previous software (in most cases - except XOOPS, where it should be in the same directory as XOOPS), or any other directory you prefer.  Then, access the convert.php file much like you might install.php or upgrade.php:

http://www.example.com/path/to/convert.php

From there, proceed as directed by the converter.

Grudge

Same Problem here like the old Importer.  (English : http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=26884.msg497727#msg497727  & German : http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=73562.0

Where can i set the Database Prefix ? This is a Must-Have Feature in every Converter.

BTW - the default Tableprefix of vBulletin is "vb3_" and not "" !!!  :-\

Update :

I see that there are nearly 20 - 50 Users here that have the same Problem in the past.

Did you recognize that the vBulletin config.php is not in "/"   ?

It is in :

"YOURDOMAIN.COM/YOURFORUMROOT/includes/config.php"

and the interesting point is :

Quote
$config['Database']['tableprefix'] = 'vb3_';

It is not a Access Problem - because the "config.php" from vBulletin has access to the Database it is a simple Problem of this whole Converter.

Please add a Option to set the Database Prefix - this is Standard in every Converter i ever used on other Convertertools from different Boardsoftware (IPB -> phpBB  // phpBB -> vBulletin etc.).

If a Coder wants me to see the Database Structure or the Structur of the vBulletin 3.5.x config.php send me a PM please. ;)

But i think the simple Solution is to set the Prefix at "vb3_" by Default at the Script and give the User the possibility to change it in the convert.php like the Path if he has edited it.



Solution :

1. Open your vbulletin/includes/config.php
2. Search for ?> at the End of config.php
3. Before that add :

Quote
$dbname = $config['Database']['dbname'];
$tableprefix = $config['Database']['tableprefix'];

Maybe you get a Error at the Avatars - ignore it and close the Browser.
Use the Password Remember Function because SMF uses other Encryption for your Password and your old will not work for the Moment.
Then go to you SMF AdminCP and use the Repairfunktion - it will find now your Threads and Forums and will correct them. Now only thing you have to do is to sort them new.

ATTENTION :

You will get lost of :

Avatars,
Smilies,
Usergroupsettings (specially for Userundergroups),
all Mods are going to SMODs,
some BB Tags (Size, Font etc. will not work),
some Forumpermissions.

I think there is a lot of work to do before this is generally usefull. Specially the greatest Problem is the great and professionall Usermanagment in vBulletin that SMF does not have. So a lot of Permissions and Settings get lost.

Thx to "noex" (http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=73562.msg499212#msg499212)
« Last Edit: March 01, 2006, 04:02:44 AM by redlabour »
http://www.politikstube.de - die christliche Politikcommunity

Offline redlabour

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 87
  • Gender: Male
    • Politikstube.de - die christliche Politikcommunity
Re: 1.1 Converters
« Reply #381 on: February 27, 2006, 06:08:58 PM »
Sorry, Guys - nobody has an idea ?
http://www.politikstube.de - die christliche Politikcommunity

Offline BlueSkyWeb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: 1.1 Converters
« Reply #382 on: February 27, 2006, 06:16:17 PM »
Hi guys,

Thanks for that - will go give it a shot! Will come and ley you know if it works!

Thanks,
Felisa

Offline redlabour

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 87
  • Gender: Male
    • Politikstube.de - die christliche Politikcommunity
Re: 1.1 Converters
« Reply #383 on: February 28, 2006, 03:53:00 AM »
IPB causes hundrets of Errors ......

PM´s not possible - Errors
Moderators - Errors
Polls - Errors
Poll Logs - Errors etc.

*argh*

One Question :

Did you ever look at a vBulletin and IPB Database before started to code the Converters ? If not i can help....
« Last Edit: February 28, 2006, 04:43:25 AM by redlabour »
http://www.politikstube.de - die christliche Politikcommunity

Offline Sarmat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: 1.1 Converters
« Reply #384 on: February 28, 2006, 08:42:23 AM »
Hello! Help, please.

I want to convert vBulletin3.5.2 to SMF1.1

Bouth forums are installed and working.

I have one DB user name and one password for two DBs on the same MySQL Server. (vBulletin3 uses one DB, SMF another)

I received this error message:
 
Quote from: vBulletin3_to_SMF1.1_Converter
Sorry, the database connection information used in the specified installation of SMF cannot access the installation of vBulletin 3. This may either mean that the installation doesn't exist, or that the MySQL account used does not have permissions to access it.

The error MySQL gave was: No Database Selected

Offline redlabour

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 87
  • Gender: Male
    • Politikstube.de - die christliche Politikcommunity
Re: 1.1 Converters
« Reply #385 on: February 28, 2006, 08:47:31 AM »
Hello! Help, please.

I want to convert vBulletin3.5.2 to SMF1.1

Bouth forums are installed and working.

I have one DB user name and one password for two DBs on the same MySQL Server. (vBulletin3 uses one DB, SMF another)

I received this error message:
 
Quote from: vBulletin3_to_SMF1.1_Converter
Sorry, the database connection information used in the specified installation of SMF cannot access the installation of vBulletin 3. This may either mean that the installation doesn't exist, or that the MySQL account used does not have permissions to access it.

The error MySQL gave was: No Database Selected

You have to install them both in one Database - sure this is not your fault (these Converters here are hell).

But then do not wonder - it will still not work then :

http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=38966.msg497749#msg497749
« Last Edit: February 28, 2006, 08:51:15 AM by redlabour »
http://www.politikstube.de - die christliche Politikcommunity

Offline Sarmat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: 1.1 Converters
« Reply #386 on: February 28, 2006, 09:19:11 AM »
You have to install them both in one Database
I want to integrate SMF into CMS Joomla. vBulletin and Joomla are in different DBs, becouse they don't like to work in the same one.

To integrate SMF and Joomla they have to be in one DB. So, I need to find solution anyway.

But then do not wonder - it will still not work then
All the more I need the solution in case of two DBs ;)

Thanks

Offline redlabour

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 87
  • Gender: Male
    • Politikstube.de - die christliche Politikcommunity
Re: 1.1 Converters
« Reply #387 on: February 28, 2006, 09:35:44 AM »
vBulletin and Joomla are in different DBs, becouse they don't like to work in the same one.

Wrong - it works´s without Problems because they have different Tableprefixes.  I used Joomla, Coppermine, vBulletin and Wordpress in only 1 (!) Database for Months. No problems !


To integrate SMF and Joomla they have to be in one DB. So, I need to find solution anyway.

You can install Joomla, vB, phpBB, SMF, myBB, Wordpress and whatever you like all in one Database if she is great enough and if you use different Tableprefixes for all of them.

All the more I need the solution in case of two DBs ;)

Wrong - see above. ;)

All the more you need the same Solution i search for here :

http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=38966.msg497749#msg497749   ;)

But i think after waiting more than 24 hours for a answer, after finding out that ca. 50 Users here in the past with the same Problem and no Solution that there is nobody here that is able to fix this Converters in this Thread.  :-\

Update :

This is not working too :

http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=34863.msg264446#msg264446
« Last Edit: February 28, 2006, 12:14:40 PM by redlabour »
http://www.politikstube.de - die christliche Politikcommunity

Offline redlabour

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 87
  • Gender: Male
    • Politikstube.de - die christliche Politikcommunity
Re: 1.1 Converters
« Reply #388 on: March 01, 2006, 04:00:06 AM »
Solution is posted here for vBulletin 3.5.4 :

http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=38966.msg497749#msg497749

But read the Attention Part over there ! ;)
« Last Edit: March 01, 2006, 04:03:44 AM by redlabour »
http://www.politikstube.de - die christliche Politikcommunity

Offline SpuTTer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: 1.1 Converters
« Reply #389 on: March 09, 2006, 08:06:24 PM »
I've noticed a possible bug in the convert script. I'm actually not exactly sure how it's working without this. I was getting a mysql error that "no database was selected" when trying to run the convert. I'm trying to convert an old Nuke 7.5 site (phpBB 2.0.8) over to SMF 1.1 RC2.

Anyway I was able to fix the error by selecting the correct database. It seems the convert script wasnt selecting a database at all. Maybe a config issue on my side but I couldnt find it. I manually selected it by modifying convert.php

I also hard coded some variables ($from_prefix and $to_prefix and $db_server) just in case but Im not 100% that they were required now.

Code: [Select]
// Persist?
if (empty($db_persist))
mysql_connect($db_server, $db_user, $db_passwd);
else
mysql_pconnect($db_server, $db_user, $db_passwd);

// new code here
mysql_select_db('my_database_name_here');

Offline guilliam

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 51
  • Gender: Male
    • All ladies Cebu, Philippines Jaycees Chapter(JCI)
phpbb 2.0.18 to SMF 1.1RC2
« Reply #390 on: March 12, 2006, 11:14:10 PM »
worked flawlessly converting phpbb 2.0.18 to SMF 1.1RC2following this steps:

Quote
1. create a new database on new server, name it DB_1
2. install SMF on DB_1 ( when installing, use table prefix smf_ ) ***Admin name needs to be same as phpBB forum
3. install same version of phpBB2 on new server on DB_1 ( when installing, use table prefix phpBB_ ) ***Admin name needs to be same as SMF forum
3. then go into old phpBB forum admin CP, and do backup database option (full)
4. log into new phpBB installed forum control panel, and do restore backup
5. verify phpBB forum has been restored correctly on new DB server by checking posts
6. then go into phpMyAdmin and check your tables..on left hand side you should see tables with both
smf_xxxx  and phpbb_xxx
7. upload SMF converter via ftp to smf folders
8. run converter and your all set

guide from @jarhead9952: http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=26551.0

upload converter.php and phpbb2_to_smf.sql to the smf folder then call converter.php via your web browser.

not a single hiccup!

thanks again.

- g
----
SMF ported on Joomla:
http://www.jcip-zugbuana.org

Offline Tachu

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
NEED URGENT HELP
« Reply #391 on: March 15, 2006, 10:04:01 PM »
NEED URGENT HELP

Anyone please, Urgent help. I'm updating from IPB 1.3 and I get this error:

Code: [Select]
Recalculating forum statistics... Unsuccessful!
This query:

    UPDATE `user_smf`.smf_boards
    SET ID_LAST_MSG = 1, lastUpdated = 1142379504
    WHERE ID_BOARD = 1
    LIMIT 1;

Caused the error:

    Unknown column 'lastUpdated' in 'field list'

Can anyone please help me? All the other stuff worked perfectly...

Offline CheChen

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: NEED URGENT HELP
« Reply #392 on: March 18, 2006, 06:47:33 AM »
NEED URGENT HELP

Anyone please, Urgent help. I'm updating from IPB 1.3 and I get this error:

Code: [Select]
Recalculating forum statistics... Unsuccessful!
This query:

    UPDATE `user_smf`.smf_boards
    SET ID_LAST_MSG = 1, lastUpdated = 1142379504
    WHERE ID_BOARD = 1
    LIMIT 1;

Caused the error:

    Unknown column 'lastUpdated' in 'field list'

Can anyone please help me? All the other stuff worked perfectly...

I have the same problem, pls help..

Offline Harzem

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 5,384
  • Gender: Male
  • I know, my avatar is nerve-wracking!
Re: 1.1 Converters
« Reply #393 on: March 18, 2006, 07:14:10 AM »

Quote
converting statistics ... Unsuccessful

Just ignore that. Your forum is converted successfully :D But, go to SMF admin panel > Forum Maintenance > Recalculate forum statistics. And you're completely done :D

Offline marinig

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: 1.1 Converters
« Reply #394 on: March 20, 2006, 09:52:30 AM »
Hello,
I don't know if you already discussed this, so please be patient if I ask to repeat!  :)
I'm trying to convert my old Yabb 1 gold SP1 to SMF 1.1 rc2 (I'm using the latest convert.php and yabb_to_smf.php files): the converter stop prematurely (during members conversion) and returns the following error:
Field 'lngfile' doesn't have a default value

What does it mean?

I tried also to convert the same data from Yabb 2.1 (obviously I used the correct converter yabb2_to_smf.php) but I still get the same error!

Please: help!!  :'(  :'(  :'(

Offline Markuz Nightwind

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • Nightwind World
Re: 1.1 Converters
« Reply #395 on: March 21, 2006, 11:54:57 AM »
Hi, sorry for the stupid question but... when can i find the convert.php? I don't see it in the first post...

P.S. Don't kill me please

Offline marinig

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: 1.1 Converters
« Reply #396 on: March 21, 2006, 12:10:45 PM »
There's a complete list at the end of the first topic on the first page!
You can see the list only if you log-in.

PS Can anybody help me??

Offline didou

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Invision Power Board to SMF 1.1 Converters
« Reply #397 on: March 23, 2006, 04:04:50 PM »
When I try to convert an IPB 1.3 forum I've got an error during member conversion :

Error Message :
Code: [Select]
Converting members... Unsuccessful!
This query:

    INSERT INTO `smf_large`.smf_members
    (ID_MEMBER, memberName, dateRegistered, posts, ID_GROUP, lastLogin, realName, instantMessages, passwd, emailAddress, websiteTitle, websiteUrl, location, ICQ, signature, birthdate, AIM, YIM, MSN, hideEmail, avatar, pm_email_notify)
    VALUES ('10477', ...),
    ('10470', ...),
    ('10471', ...),
    ('10472', ...),
    ('10473', ...),
    ('10474', ...),
    ('10475', ...),
    ('10476', ...),
    ('10478', ...),
    ('10479', ...),
     ...
     ('10945', ...);

Caused the error:

    Duplicate entry '10477' for key 1


In ipb base the id of last member is 10945.

Perhaps, the order of the lines in the error message (10477 before 10470) is an indication ...

Could you help me ?

EDIT : I have found a workaround (or perhaps a correction ?)

i have change the file "invision_to_smf.sql" section "--- Converting members..." :

Code: [Select]
SELECT
id AS ID_MEMBER, name AS memberName, joined AS dateRegistered, posts,
IF(mgroup = {$INFO['admin_group']}, 1, IF(mgroup > 5, mgroup + 3, 0)) AS ID_GROUP,
last_visit AS lastLogin, name AS realName, msg_total AS instantMessages,
password AS passwd, email AS emailAddress, website AS websiteTitle,
website AS websiteUrl, location, icq_number AS ICQ, signature,
CONCAT_WS('-', bday_year, bday_month, bday_day) AS birthdate,
aim_name AS AIM, yahoo AS YIM, msnname AS MSN, hide_email AS hideEmail,
IF(avatar = 'noavatar' OR INSTR(avatar, 'upload') > 0, '', avatar) AS avatar,
email_pm AS pm_email_notify
FROM {$from_prefix}members
WHERE id != 0
ORDER BY ID_MEMBER;  <======== NEW LINE =======<

now this step is ok....
« Last Edit: March 23, 2006, 04:33:54 PM by didou »

Offline Piwaille

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 133
    • le chant du vario (forum du parapente)
Re: 1.1 Converters
« Reply #398 on: March 25, 2006, 11:02:50 AM »
hello

sorry but I havent read all the 27 pages on this topic....
I'm brand newbie in SMF, and i'm planning migrating my phpBB forum toward a SMF one which I find nice, even if I have troubles with mod in my native language (french).

My question : Is the "converter" a real converter or is it doing just the import
in other word : will the phpBB database be erased or not ?
Piwaille
le chant du vario est motorisé par SMF 1.1.15

Offline Harzem

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 5,384
  • Gender: Male
  • I know, my avatar is nerve-wracking!
Re: 1.1 Converters
« Reply #399 on: March 25, 2006, 11:04:48 AM »
It will read the data in phpBB database, and write it to SMF database in a meaningfull way for SMF ;) The original database will not be erased or touched at all.